17 New Jersey Cities Known For Reducing Flood Risk

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) said 17 New Jersey municipalities are recognized at two awards ceremonies this week for reducing their flood risk through the Community Assessment System (CRS) of FEMA.

Residents of participating municipalities are eligible for additional premium reductions for their federal flood insurance policies.

CRS is a FEMA administered program that offers lower insurance premiums under the National Flood Insurance Program. Communities can apply to participate in the system, and residents of participating communities pay lower premium reduction rates depending on the implementation of floodplain management policies.

Monday’s ceremony at the Long Beach Township Courtroom in Brant Beach, NJ, recognized Bay Head, Beach Haven, Berkeley Township, Hazlet, Lavallette, Long Beach Township, Mantoloking, Middletown Township and the Township of Stafford.

Wednesday’s ceremony at Sea Isle City Elementary School in Sea Isle City, NJ, will honor Avalon, Cape May, Cape May Point, Longport, Margate, Ocean City, Sea Isle City and Upper Township.

Communities earn points for their ranking based on 18 honorable activities in four categories: public information, mapping and regulation, flood damage reduction, and flood preparedness. For cities participating in CRS, flood insurance premium rates are reduced in 5 percent increments.

The premium reductions come in the form of “CRS classes”, which are similar to the classifications used for fire insurance. A “class 1” community (the highest level of compliance) would benefit from a 45% premium reduction.

Ten New Jersey municipalities (Sea Isle City, Avalon, Beach Haven, Bedminster, Brigantine, Long Beach Township, Longport, Mantoloking, Pompton Lakes and Stafford Township) are in “Class 5”, the highest level currently in the State. The 61 communities in the program saved a total of $ 17 million.

FEMA said participating communities have better organized and more formal local flooding programs, which can be assessed against a nationally recognized benchmark. FEMA said the reduced premiums are an incentive for communities to maintain its programs, and residents are reminded that their cities are working to protect them from flooding and will become more informed and interested in supporting and improving flood protection measures. .

Source: Federal Emergency Management Agency

The table below shows the credit points earned, the classification assigned and the premium reductions given to communities in the CRS of the National Flood Insurance Program. (Graphic courtesy of the Federal Emergency Management Agency)

The subjects
New Jersey flood

Interested in Flood?

Receive automatic alerts for this topic.

About Florence L. Silvia

Check Also

Resilience and natural risks –

Resilience is the ability of individuals, communities, businesses and systems in a city to survive, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.